Windows 10 uses your bandwidth to provide other users with updates



A new feature baked into Windows 10 makes it easier for users to obtain software updates by allowing them to be downloaded from other users. However, this peer-to-peer sharing method uses your precious bandwidth, and it’s enabled by default after you upgrade.

“When this is turned on, your PC may also send parts of previously downloaded Windows updated and apps to PCs on your local network, or PCs on the Internet,” Microsoft explains. The software giant insists it won’t have a major impact on your bandwidth, and that it improves the update experience for users.

But if you do a lot of online gaming, rely on getting the best upload speeds you can get, or simply have a data cap you don’t want to meet, you may not be okay with this. Fortunately, peer-to-peer update sharing can be disabled in a few simple steps.

Here’s what you need to do:

  • Open the Settings app, then click “Update & security”
  • Under the “Windows Update” section, click “Advanced options”
  • Click “Choose how updates are delivered”
  • Under “Updates from more than one place,” click the toggle to turn it off

There is one caveat to disabling this feature: Not only will it prevent your PC from sharing updates with other Windows 10 users, but it will also prevent you from downloading from other users, too, so future updates could be a lot slower to obtain.


By Technobuffalo