Microsoft’s just turned Windows 10 into malware



For months now, Microsoft has done everything in its power to shove Windows 10 down your throat. The free update is mandatory at this point, and we’ve heard from many Windows users who discovered their computers updated to the newest version automatically, without their knowledge or explicit permission. Microsoft kept offering excuses for these annoying occurrences, and even said it will stop pushing upgrades to Windows users refuse to hope aboard the Windows 10 train.

Now, the company has come up with its most evil trick yet to get you to update your PC to Windows 10, and it’s based on the same methodology hackers use to trick people into installing malware.

Pop-ups often appear when you visit malicious websites and when you click the “X” to close them, malware is installed on your computer. Well, Microsoft just tweaked its Windows 10 upgrade alert pop-up so that the update is triggered when clicking the X, PC World explains.

The Get Windows X app that pushes the update prompt has recently changed the behavior of the “X” button. Earlier, users would have been able to dismiss the pop-up by pressing the button, as you would expect. But you can’t do that anymore. Pressing the X now has a different function. It tells the company you’re happy to have your computer updated at the time shown inside the pop-up.

The only way to get rid of it is to change the update time manually. But of course, that’s not intuitive at all and many people are about to be tricked into upgrading.

The trick is disingenuous at best, since Microsoft isn’t technically doing anything wrong. It’s just turning the function of the X button from “close and do nothing” to “close and upgrade later.” You know, without explaining this tiny change to anyone.

Come July 29th, Microsoft will stop prompting users to upgrade, Business Insider reminds us, so make sure you change your Windows 10 upgrade time to August or later!